25 December 2011

Parade of Stars kicks off 37th Metro Manila Film Festival

Star power of a different kind descended on the streets of Manila yesterday as the traditional Parade of Stars ushered in the 37th Metro Manila Film Festival.
The lead stars of the seven-film entries were presented in elaborately decorated floats set up midday at the Mall of Asia complex in Pasay City. The celebrities gathered at the One Esplanade near Mall of Asia before proceeding to their respective floats.
From there, star-studded parade proceeded toward EDSA, turning left on Roxas Boulevard, then straight to the Quirino Grandstand at the Rizal Park, where a variety show was mounted.
“Every year the competition becomes tougher,” said actor-producer Vic Sotto to entertainment media when he was interviewed prior to the parade. “But MMFF has been a tradition for me and most of the other actors who take part in it like Sen. Bong Revilla and the rest.”
Sotto is paired with Ai Ai de las Alas in the MMFF entry “Enteng ng Ina Mo” while Revilla entered “Ang Panday 2” in the Festival.
Per tradition, the Parade of Stars kicks off the MMFF, which officially opens on Christmas Day, Dec. 25. This year’s entries are a predictable combination of action-fantasy, comedy, and drama gathering the industry’s big stars with solid box office standing behind them.
The seven entries to the 37th MMFF are:
“Panday 2”: Action-fantasy chronicling the new adventures of blacksmith Flavio, armed with a magical sword. Stars Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr., Marian Rivera and Iza Calzado and featuring astounding special effects not commonly found in Filipino movies. Producer: Imus Productions and GMA Network.
“Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow:” Family drama on the lifestyle of the rich and decadent stars comebacking Maricel Soriano and Gabby Concepcion, with Lovi Poe, Dennis Trillo, Solenn Heussaff, Carla Abellana, Eula Caballero, Agot Isidro. Producer: Regal Entertainment.
“Enteng ng Ina Mo:” Comedy-fantasy unites for the first time on screen the big-screen families of Enteng Kabisote (Vic Sotto) and Ang Tanging Ina N’yo (Ai Ai de las Alas). Producer: Star Cinema/M-Zet Productions/APT Productions/Octo Arts.
“My Househusband:” Dramedy starring real-life couple Judy Ann Santos and Ryan Agoncillo together with Eugene Domingo offers a slice of a new emerging lifestyle among married couples when the husband plays homemaker. Producer: Octo Arts Films.
“Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga:” A period action-drama telling for the fourth time in a movie the story of a notorious Tondo hoodlum in the 1950s. Stars Laguna Governor Jeorge Estregan, Carla Abellana. Producer: Scenema Productions.
“Segunda Mano:” A horror-drama about how the past can wreak havoc on the present either through material possessions or love affairs. Stars Kris Aquino, Dingdong Dantes and Angelica Panganiban. Producer: Star Cinema/MJM Productions.
“Shake, Rattle & Roll 13:” A perennial festival horror movie favorite known for its 3-in-1 movie format featuring an all-star cast that includes, among others, Eugene Domingo, Kathryn Bernardo, Maricar Reyes, Zanjoe Marudo. Producer: Regal Entertainment.
During the parade, star wattage was accompanied with respective gimmicks as "Segunda Mano" lead stars Kris Aquino and Dingdong Dante's gave away posters of the movie while a life size standee of actress Eugene Domingo was seen on the "Househusband" float because Domingo, who is part of three entries, joined the float of "Shake Rattle & Roll 13."
While the entries to the MMFF are shown in 17 Metro Manila cities and towns, it is in reality nationwide in scope.
Lawyer Francisco Tolentino, chairman of Metropolitan Manila Development Authority and overall chairman of MMFF, said the festival is targeting a box-office goal of P600 million this year. In 2010, the MMFF grossed P540 million.
The festival’s awards night is set on Dec. 28 at the Resorts World Performing Arts Theater in Pasay. It will be hosted by Cesar Montano and Ai Ai de las Alas.
At stake are trophies and cash prizes for the seven official entries and those of the New Wave participants, five full-length indie films and 10 student short films. The New Wave entries were shown from Dec. 17 to 21 at the Robinsons Galleria.
The winner of the best float, with a cash prize of P200,000 will be announced at the awards night. The entire show will be telecast on Jan. 1, 2012 at 10:30 p.m., over ABS-CBN.




  © Free Blogger Templates 'Greenery' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP