25 December 2011

All set for 2011 MMFF-P

The local movie industry is gearing itself up for another successful Metro Manila Film Festival - Philippines (MMFF-P) run, with everyone agog in preparing for the much-hyped annual festivity a day before it opens on Dec. 25.
Already on its 37th year, the MMFF-P is enlivened by seven participating films including “Enteng ng Ina Mo” starring Vic Sotto and Ai Ai delas Alas; “My Househusband: Ikaw Na!” starring real-life couple Ryan Agoncillo and Judy Ann Santos; “Panday 2” starring Bong Revilla, Phillip Salvador, Iza Calzado and Marian Rivera; “Segunda Mano” starring Kris Aquino, Dingdong Dantes and Angelica Panganiban; “Shake Rattle & Roll 13 (Rain, Rain, Go Away; Tamawo; Parola)” starring Eugene Domingo, Zanjoe Marudo, Maricar Reyes and Kathryn Bernardo; “Yesterday Today Tomorrow” starring Maricel Soriano, Gabby Concepcion, Dennis Trillo, Heart Evangelista and Solenn Heussaff; “Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story” starring George ER Estregan, Baron Geisler and Carla Abellana.
Note that two films were pulled out from the festival by their respective producers —"Hototay," which was supposed to have starred Nora Aunor; and "Mr. Wong," which was produced and to be starred in by Robin Padilla.

The festivities will kick off with the usual "Parade of Stars," which happens today,  Dec. 24, noontime. Featuring colorful floats aimed at highlighting the respective films they represent, the parade will start at the Mall of Asia, and will go to EDSA, turn left to Roxas Blvd., and straight to the Quirino Grandstand in Luneta, where organizers are mounting a variety show of sorts.
Apart from box-office earnings, a big part of the festivities is the awards night set on Dec. 28 at the Resorts World Performing Arts Theater, which will be hosted by delas Alas and actor-director Cesar Montano.
At stake are trophies and cash prizes for Best Movie, Best Actor and Best Actress, among others. The winner of the Best Float will also be announced by then.
New Wave

And for the first time, the MMFF will recognize indie films and filmmakers by opening its first ever New Wave Section.
The new section includes some 33 entries narrowed down to five films for the Full Length category and 10 films for the Student Short category.
For the first category, these are “Haruo” by Adolf Alix, “Ritwal” by Yeng Grande, “HIV” by Neal Tan, “Dyagwar” by Ogie Diaz and Sid Pascua, and “Pintakasi” by Imee Marcos and Nelson Caguila. The second category includes “Payaso” from La Salle Lipa, “Adivino” from Asia Pacific Film Institute, “Sanayan Lang Ang Pagpatay” from Ateneo de Naga University, “Biyahe Ni Barbie” from College of St. Benilde School of Digital Arts, “Oras” from International Academy of Film & Televison in Cebu, “Mate” from Colegio de San Juan de Letran, “I See Everything” from Southville International School, “Bagong Ligo” from Mapua M.A.S., “Speechless” from Miriam College, and “Ulan” from Pixel Art, La Consolacion College.
According to the MMFF, the New Wave films were chosen based on content, choice of subject, story and screenplay, as well as standards for cinematography, design, sound and other specialized aspects of filmmaking.
Showing of the MMFF New Wave films were held at the Robinson’s Galleria from Dec. 17 to 21, 2011, with a gala night on the first two days and the regular screening of entries on the last three days of the festival.
From this official list of New Wave entries, the Best Independent Feature and Best Student Short Film will be chosen, as well as the Most Gender Sensitive Independent Film.
The announcement of winners for the New wave entries will be on Dec. 28 as well.
The awarding ceremony will be telecast on New Year's Day, 10:30 p.m., on ABS-CBN.




  © Free Blogger Templates 'Greenery' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP