21 June 2011

PNoy Appoints New CICT Commissioner

A year after assuming office, Pres. Noynoy Aquino has finally named a new commissioner for the Commission on Information and Communications Technology (CICT) who will work under the agency’s chair, Ivan John Uy.

Top CICT executives said Malacanang has already signed and transmitted the appointment papers of Oliver V. Chato, a son of Camarines Norte representative Liwayway Vinzons-Chato.

The elder Chato, a former commissioner of the Bureau of Internal Revenue during the Ramos administration, is a member of Aquino’s ruling Liberal Party.

The younger Chato is the first CICT commissioner to be appointed by Aquino. It took the president almost a year to make the appointment after designating Uy as CICT chair in July 2010.

Very scant information is available on Chato, who is reportedly an open source software developer. He will be taking the place of retired commissioner Consuelo S. Perez as head of the human capital development group of the CICT.

Under the Executive Order No. 269 issued by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, the CICT chair shall be assisted by four commissioners.

The appointment of Chato brings the number of CICT commissioners to three. However, two current commissioners – Monchito Ibrahim and Francisco “Frank" Perez II – are appointees of Macapagal-Arroyo and serving on a holdover capacity.

Thus, they cannot sign official papers and need a valid re-appointment from the president before performing such function. In effect, there are still three positions for commissioners that are still vacant.

Source: GMA News




  © Free Blogger Templates 'Greenery' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP