07 November 2011

DepEd increases subsidy for school athletes

The Department of Education has allocated additional subsidy for schools that host high school students who show strong potential in sports.
Education Secretary Armin Luistro said that on top of their regular maintenance and other operating expenses for school year 2011-2012, the 17 secondary expansion schools implementing the Special Program in Sports (SPS) are granted a maximum of P500,000 subsidy for effective delivery of service to high school students who excel in sports.
“For us to develop the untapped talent of students in sports, we have to invest in their training and other sporting needs,” added Luistro.
As specified in DepEd Order no 71 s. 2011, 20 percent of the subsidy should go to training of teachers and administrators on relevant topics in sports; 40 percent for the procurement of sports supplies including athletic uniforms; five percent for the procurement of instructional materials in SPS; 20 percent for student development activities such as training, workshops, participation in DepEd-approved competitions in sports including travel allowance; and 15 percent for participation in DepEd-sponsored scholarships, professional upgrading of teachers including enrolment in a master’s degree program in sports.
The 17 recipient schools shall receive a fixed allocation of P290,000 and a variable allocation computed at P500 per student. These schools are also directed to conduct a yearly mentoring program to other schools within the 40 priority division in the region which intend to implement the same sports program. These schools will also be given access to the sports equipment and facilities in order to improve their learning outcomes.
Moreover, the student-beneficiaries of the sports program must continue to participate in national or international competitions.
“Because we want to develop not only their physical prowess but their academic potential as well, we require that our beneficiaries must attain a mean percentage score above the national average in the National Achievement Test,” Luistro explained.
The 17 SPS schools are Ilocos Norte National High School in Region I, Cagayan NHS in Region 2, Victoria NHS in Region 3, Lopez National Comprehensive HS in Region 4-A, Palawan National School in Region 4-B, Camarines Sur NHS in Region 5, Iloilo NHS in Region 6, Negros Oriental NHS in Region 7, Palo NHS in Region 8, Zamboanga Sibugay NHS in Region 9, Bukidnon NHS in Region 10, Sto. Tomas NHS in Region 11, General Santos City NHS in Region 12, Bayugan National Comprehensive HS in CARA ARAGA, Datu Paglas NHS in Autonomous Region Muslim Mindanao, Tabuk NHS in Cordillera Administrative Region and Muntinlupa Science HS in the National Capital Region.




  © Free Blogger Templates 'Greenery' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP